Multiple Sclerosis

The National Virtual Multiple Sclerosis and Neuroimmunological Institute (IVSM) is the third born within the IRCCS Network of Neuroscience and Neurorehabilitation. The network includes 19 institutes of scientific excellence, whose expertise in both preclinical and clinical fields represents the basis for the development of new technological and scientifical skills for a better prevention, diagnosis an diagnostic approach to multiple sclerosis.
The network aims at finding new approaches to the cure of MS also with the use of preclinical models useful for the study of new therapies with fewer side effects and is based on an inclusive approach to patients. Indeed, national stakeholders such as AISM, AINI, SIN, are included in the network, as a guarantee for patients satisfaction and inclusiveness, which is the ultimate goal of the IVSM.


Ginavito Martino IRCCS Ospedale San Raffaele di Milano


Antonio Uccelli IRCCS Ospedale Policlinico San Martino di Genova

Project Manager:

Paola Larghi IRCCS Ospedale San Raffaele di Milano

Advisory Board:

Roberto Bergamaschi Istituto Neurologico Casimiro Mondino_ Marco Rovaris Fondazione Don Carlo Gnocchi Onlus_Matilde Inglese IRCCS Ospedale Policlinico San Martino_ Luca Battistini Fondazione Santa Lucia_Renato Mantegazza Fondazione Istituto Neurologico “Carlo Besta_Diego Centonze INM Neuromed_Massimo Filippi IRCCS Ospedale San Raffaele

Board of Directors:

Gianvito Martino Ospedale San Raffaele_ Antonio Uccelli Ospedale Policlinico San Martino IRCCS_ Roberto Bergamaschi Istituto Neurologico Casimiro Mondino_ Marco RovarisFondazione Don Carlo Gnocchi Onlus_Matilde Inglese Ospedale Policlinico San Martino IRCCS_ Luca Battistini Fondazione Santa Lucia_ Massimiliano Valeriani Ospedale Bambino Gesù_ Renato Mantegazza Fondazione Istituto Neurologico Carlo Besta_ Vincenzo Parisi Fondazione G.B. Bietti_ Raffaele Lodi Istituto delle Neuroscienze Neurologiche  di Bologna_Elio Scarpini Fondazione Ca’Granda Ospedale Maggiore Policlinico_ Gianluigi Mancardi Istituti Clinici Scientifici Maugeri_ Edoardo Sessa Centro Neurolesi “Bonino-Pulejo” _Diego Centonze INM Neuromed_ Dante Mantini Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo_ Massimo Filippi Ospedale San Raffaele_ Carlo Cavaliere SDN_ Eduardo Nobile-Orazio Istituto Clinico Humanitas_ Massimiliano Mirabella Policlinico Gemelli

Executive board:

Massimo Filippi Ospedale San Raffaele_ Maria Pia Amato Fondazione Don Carlo Gnocchi Onlus_ Maria Grazia Grasso Fondazione Santa Lucia_Matilde Inglese Ospedale Policlinico San Martino IRCCS_ Silvia Colnaghi Istituto Neurologico Casimiro Mondino_ Paola Cavalcante Fondazione Istituto Neurologico Carlo Besta_ Diego Centonze INM Neuromed_ Maria Pia Sormani Ospedale Policlinico San Martino IRCCS_ Piero Parchi Istituto delle Neuroscienze Neurologiche  di Bologna e Francesca Andreetta Fondazione Istituto Neurologico Carlo Besta_ Roberto Furlan Ospedale San Raffaele_Paola Zaratin AISM

  • Dedicated Human Resources

  • Dedicated beds

  • Dedicated medical clinics per week

  • Hospital admissions per Year

  • Outpatients per year

  • Active clinical Trials

  • Impact Factor (Normalised)